Harry Potter Worldcup – Privet Drive

27 Jun

So, it started last week but I wanted to wait until the result from the first task was done. So, I’ll simply start with Private Drive and tell you about my votes and the character presented in bold letters, is the one who won.

Harry Potter vs. Professor Quirell.

Okey, not so surprising, is it? Harry is the main character and the saga is named after him (for those who haven’t noticed yet) and you see him grow up and everything, so it’s not such a surprise. So I think you’ve understood that my vote went for Mr. Potter.

Lucius Malfoy vs. Gilderoy Lockhart.

So, the father of Draco and the D.A.D.A teacher from the second year. The winner, Lucious Malfoy is the character I also chose to vote for as well, since I find him pretty cool in some sort of way. Yeah sure, he’s a disgusting Death Eater tralalalala, but you also see him grow during the books and in the end, he decides to leave the dark side. I find him more real than Gilderoy Lockhart that’s been lying through the whole, second book and I simply doesn’t like him.

 

Professor McGonagall vs. Cornelius Fudge.

Honestly, you shouldn’t even hesitate on this one. Professor Minerva McGonagall is fucking AWESOME! No need to explain more, or is there? Let’s just mention that Cornelius Fudge is a bad Minister, a coward that deserves a slap in his face. :3

 

Neville Longbottom vs. Fenrir Greyback

Well, no further description is needed here. We’ve followed Neville since the first year and we’ve seen him become a great wizard and it was easy to decide here. I should also mention that Fenrir Greyback is disgusting!

 

Dobby vs. Dean Thomas

Dobby the house-elf has always been in his own class. He’s adorable. I’ve always liked him a lot and the fact that I didn’t really  notice Dean Thomas in the beginning kind off outshines his chances to win this battle, which he didn’t. So it’s not surprising at all that sweet little Dobby won. May he rest in peace!

 

Mad-Eye Moody vs. Kingsley Shacklebolt.

This one was rather hard. Two awesome aurors from The Order of Phoenix. But in the end, I had to look at it his way. Sure, Alastor (Mad-Eye) is an awesome auror and character and he’s the best auror that’s ever existed, but Kingsley Shacklebolt survives (hehe) and becomes the Minister of Magic and he made the world SAFE again. Besides, he’s so goddamn awesome in the fifth book and film, so I simply had to admit it to myself – Kingsley is my winner and it seems like, he’s the other readers winner as well.

 

Professor Trelawney vs. Professor Filtwick.

Another one that was pretty easy for me. You see, I’ve never really liked Prof. Trelawney but I always found Prof. Filtwick as an amusing and charming (haha, pretty funny isn’t it – a charming Charms teacher ;)) character. I’ve always liked him, especially in the movies when you kind of get to see another side of him than in the books, and I think it’s genious! That’s the main reason I voted on him, and I guess, it’s the same reason others did.

 

Severus Snape vs. Vincent Crabbe.

I don’t think there’s anyone who actually likes Vincent Crabbe – son of another Death Eater. I find him rather annoying and pathetic and I’ve always disliked him, as a lot of other fans I guess. But I’ve always sensed that there’s something with Snape that makes him act like he does. I was right and I don’t want to spoil the last movie for those who haven’t read the book, but it clearly changed my view of him. I do now respect Snape in some sort of way and it would be stupid not to do so. He’s an interesting character that takes seven books to actually get to know, but it’s worth it. Therefore, I would say that he’s one of my favorites.

 

So, that’s the first part of the Worldcup. I just might as well post below here which I think should win the second part of Privet Drive. Then I’ll update about the others as well. The character I write with bold letters is the one I think should “win” this task.

Harry Potter vs. Lucious Malfoy

Professor McGonagall vs. Neville Longbottom (can’t make up my mind here, sorry)

Dobby vs. Kingsley Shacklebolt

Professor Filtwick vs. Severus Snape

Leave a Reply

